After a long, stressful summer of working, fundraising and preparing, I am finally at Word of Life Argentina!! God definitely blessed the fundraising and I was able to raise the entire cost of tuition and my plane ticket here and then back home in December. I am still trying to raise the next $1,500 to come back in January, but that doesn’t need to be done until December. I landed in Buenos Aires at about 9:30 Wednesday morning and since then I’ve just been trying to get to know as many people as possible and just get adjusted to everything. Everyone here is really nice, and I know it’s going to be a great year! Hopefully I’ll be able to write every Saturday to add some normalcy, but I can’t make any promises because the internet here is really sketchy so sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. So far so good, my only bilingual roommate is out doing ministry in Buenos Aires for the weekend, so it has been very interesting trying to communicate with my other roommates in Spanglish, but its getting better. I’m also just trying to adjust to the water and everything here, so that is always so much fun as well… Next week we will have our official orientation week and get into a normal schedule, until then it’s mostly up in the air and a lot of free time that we don’t know what to do with! I’m going to try and post pictures on facebook after this, but it didn’t work out for me yesterday, so fingers crossed! J
Here are some quirky tid-bits just for fun!
-Argentina does not have Peanut Butter or Ranch Dressing!
-We eat bread. LOTS OF BREAD! Lol! Even on the plane the meal consisted of pasta, crackers and cheese, a roll, and a cookie.
-Dolce de Leche is the bomb! They use it a lot too, kind of like peanut butter or nuttella…
-Girls aren’t that into sports, and if a girl plays soccer she is considered “weird and macho”
-We eat bread. LOTS OF BREAD! Lol! Even on the plane the meal consisted of pasta, crackers and cheese, a roll, and a cookie.
-Dolce de Leche is the bomb! They use it a lot too, kind of like peanut butter or nuttella…
-Girls aren’t that into sports, and if a girl plays soccer she is considered “weird and macho”
(I’ll be sure to give you some more random quirky information as I find out more of these things. :)
<3
No comments:
Post a Comment